Skip to content

Too Many Options

April 5, 2010
by

Be careful what you wish for – such a cliche, but so true. Last week, I sat at home with my fingers crossed. All I wanted was for one employer to phone me about a practicum interview. Closing dates were approaching and panic was starting to set in.

By Friday, I had my first interview. To be honest, it went better than expected. The organization seemed great and the tasks fulfilling. Shortly after the interview, I was offered a position. At that moment, I thought to myself, “Great! That’s the end of it.”

Unfortunately, that wasn’t even close to the end of it.

Several other companies invited me for interviews only hours after I was offered the position. My question of the day is:  what do you do with so many options? Is it  worth exploring  possibilities, or should you be grateful for the immediate opportunities that come your way?

Even at the practicum stage, I think business students have the right to be picky. For some, it’s about finanical incentives. For others, it’s about the work experience that will lead them to their dream jobs. Employers make it especially hard for us to decide on a practicum when they all have something valuable to offer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 10:05 pm

    I think students should be picky as well Paige. As a student you’re eager to learn and cheap (as in you’re a student so they don’t have to pay you), so of course employers will be eager to hire you for a practicum position.

    Interviewing the interviewer is a good way to gauge whether or not a position will be a good fit for you. This means, when they ask if you have any questions, you have to dig a little deeper than just asking how long the lunch break is. Some questions I like to ask:

    -Have you ever had a practicum student before?
    – What are some tasks I might be expected to do?
    -What might a typical day be like for me?
    -How have other students enjoyed the practicum?

    Keep in mind that organizations will sugar-coat their answers (just like you did), but these questions might help you weed out bad employers.

    Good luck with the job hunt!

    Adrienne

  2. April 8, 2010 4:00 pm

    Thats exactly how I feel. I’m trying to decide if I should accept a practicum thats my second choice just to get it finished or if I should hold out for my first choice practicum and risk not getting one at all. Tough choices!

Leave a Reply

