Skip to content

Studying at Work

April 12, 2010

We talked about a job that teaches you, as a budding business student, stuff you’ll learn about in school anyway. This time, I’ll discuss a job that you can do while studying. It’s another job no one really likes: security officer.

The truth is, working as a security officer in an office tower at night gives you all sorts of time to catch up on that reading you’ve been avoiding. Naturally, working at night will mess with your sleep schedule, but that’s why coffee exists.

It’s also a field with high turnover, so they’re always looking for people.

When I was in university in Montreal, one of my friends completely avoided the whole student loan system by working nights as a security officer. When I was done, I had thousands of dollars to repay and he had no debts.

If you want to study at work as a security officer, make sure you have a shift where the building is empty. You want to avoid places where there’s always something happening if studying is part of your work time.

There are several security companies in the city. Paladin Security is looking for people. The Commissionaires have a student employment section. United Protection Services also has a variety of sites in the city.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 9:08 pm

    Another good one that I’ve found is sales. I know this seems counter-intuitive but it’s true. Generally in sales, you work on commission so if it’s slow or you decide that your priorities lie elsewhere you can study.
    Often when the store wasn’t busy or if I had a big test coming up, I could ignore customers and catch up on homework.
    Either way, I think most jobs other than restaurants probably allow for some sneaky study time.

    • Patrick Lepine permalink
      April 15, 2010 10:47 pm

      I agree that most jobs will have some down time when you can sneak in some studying, but few have it built in the way night security tends to. The truth is that you just can’t count on having a chance to look at your book in most jobs. I’ve had jobs where I brought my book to study, but just never got the chance to look at it. Then I was just upset I had lugged the stupid thing to work in the first place.

Leave a Reply

