Skip to content

Closet Woes

April 13, 2010
by

With practicums coming up, I’m starting to question the contents of my closet. Leggings, cotton tops, sweaters, casual dresses – all comfy items  for school, but none suitable for the workplace. For someone who attends the School of Business, I sure don’t have a lot of business clothing.

To prepare for our careers, what kind of clothing should we be buying? Are blazers and suits too formal? Do blouses and dress pants make the cut ? These days, it’s hard to keep up with the latest trends while dressing appropriately for work.  Also, it’s difficult to find business attire that universally fits all body types. And let’s be honest – as students, most of us don’t have spare cash for anything, let alone expensive business clothing.  So, here’s my question to all of you:

What are some trendy, affordable, and customized stores for work attire?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 1:01 am

    I don’t think you should buy anything until you know where you’ll actually be working. There’s such a huge range depending on the place you work – you might end up with a workplace that’s quite casual!

  2. April 13, 2010 2:57 am

    If you end up needing dress pants and shirts, Forever 21 is cheap and fashionable. Well, at least I think it is.
    I just went on a shopping rampage for my practicum interviews the other day.
    For $130, I bought:
    – a blazer,
    – six pairs of earrings,
    – four dress shirts, and
    – one pair of dress pants.

    Pretty good, eh?

  3. April 13, 2010 3:24 am

    For the men, hit Zara. European tailoring at off the rack prices. Bam!

  4. April 13, 2010 3:33 am

    Thanks for all the helpful responses!
    Shani – Wow, did you ever score a deal! Impressive 🙂
    Sarah – Great advice, but I’m just trying to buy some business clothes in general. I do agree with you, though. It’s good to wait until you get an actual job.
    Chris – I love Zara. I’ll have to check out their Spring collection.

    • April 13, 2010 10:53 pm

      Ah, fair enough. My vote is to buy (if you really have nothing) two nice pairs of pants, a couple of shirts, and a really nice blazer. Throw in some accessories and that will keep you going until you have a better sense of where you’ll end up. If you have decent pants, your shirts don’t have to be super fancy. Plus, it’s easier to dress them up with simple accessories.

      I always vote for getting a few really good things rather than a lot of really cheap things, but I’m not terribly fashionable so I tend to get a lot of basics. Buy black and solid colours and they won’t go out of style and you can mix and match easily.

  5. April 18, 2010 7:20 am

    If only the School of Business had made it mandatory to dress business casual!
    Bahaha just kidding. Stupid persuasive letters 🙂

Leave a Reply

