Skip to content

Cooking For Two

April 13, 2010
by

In reading Scott’s post, Dining on a Dime, I thought of  my own, personal favourite way to save on food costs: meal-sharing. There’s nothing more fun or inexpensive than cooking for two.

Whether it’s a family member, spouse, friend or roomate, the principle’s the same:  two people can finish a meal better than one. And while leftovers are great, I find myself wasting more food than I care to admit. 

As someone who lives on my own, I find it hard to justify my steep grocery bills. Sadly, many of the items I buy end up in the garbage bins outside my apartment. I can’t believe how quickly food goes bad. With every liquified vegetable and moldy loaf of bread that I toss, I throw away my hard-earned money.

When I invite someone else over for dinner, I solve two problems: 1) I find someone to share and finish my meals with.   2) I force myself to cook a full, healthy meal out of fear of embarassment.

I advise all of you to cook for two at least once a week. You’ll be surprised at how much you save.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 4:00 am

    I don’t recommend cooking for the person you just had a one night-stand with. It just leads to really awkward moments that no one enjoys and defeats the purpose of a one night-stand.

  2. April 14, 2010 12:21 am

    I couldn’t agree more with you Paige. I try to cook as often as I can. Check out Recipes.com for awesome recipies sure to impress any dinner guest.

  3. April 14, 2010 10:06 pm

    I’m really bad for this as well. I have a hard time justifying the time that goes into cooking and cleaning.

  4. April 15, 2010 6:25 am

    I agree, Lisa. It’s especially bad when you don’t have a dishwasher! Who honestly wants to spend their free time doing dishes?

  5. April 16, 2010 5:07 am

    It helps alot, especially with the type of workload we have. No time for anything. When I lived on my own, I cook meals ahead of time so that all i have to do when i get home is stick it in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

