Skip to content

Think twice before selling your textbooks

April 18, 2010

Most of the courses in the School of Business are designed to teach you the actual skills you’ll need in the workforce and, as such, many of the text books you buy will end up being crucial resources for you when you land your first job.

When I purchased a book dedicated entirely to public relations research I’ll admit to looking at the seas of grey copy on the inside and thinking “you’ll be the first to go come year end, my boy.” Now that I’ve used the book for a number of projects though, it’s clear that it will be invaluable if I’m ever required to do actual reasearch in the “real world.”

The same is true for a truly fantastic text book on advertising called “Canadian Adverting in Action.” This exhaustively comprehensive tome is my new bible when it comes to all things advertising. From creative positioning strategies to how to get an ad on TV, It covers absolutely every aspect of advertising. With it as a resource in my collection, I know I’ll feel more confident when taking on related tasks in the real world.

I know it’s tempting to make a cool 50 bucks and grab a few pints before you have to start thinking about working your life away, but look at your books before you sell and think about which ones might come in handy in the future.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 3:08 am

    I hate to say it, but it is sad how depressingly true your post is. Although I have used most of my text books as door stops, they might actually be handy. It just sucks having to find a bookshelf now to keep them in. Also, worst case scenario, you can always sell them in a garage sale in 10 years.
    -Marlee

  2. April 21, 2010 3:36 am

    I agree Chris! I definitely will hang on to the books we have accumulated this year for the PR program. Although with their ridiculously high prices, it’s hard not to try sell them for some extra, very much needed cash 😦

  3. April 21, 2010 5:22 am

    My books are currently in a huge and pathetic stack on my coffee table. But you are SO right! Those books will be my life saver down the road 🙂

Leave a Reply

