Skip to content

What do you mean I have to apply?

April 21, 2010

One of the things that many students don’t realize is that they have to apply to graduate. It seems so counterintuitive. You’ve finished and (probably) want nothing more to do with the place, but you have to ask if you’re allowed to leave. I wonder if anyone in higher education has ever thought about how applying to graduate makes university just the tiniest bit like jail.

You’d think that something this necessary would be easy to find. When I looked for application to graduate, it kept giving me info on grad school. I can’t guess how easy it is to find on other university websites, but it took me a couple of searches to get to the right form on the Grant MacEwan website.

I wonder if profs think the same thing as corrections officers: “You’ll be back.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 2:44 pm

    It’s a good thing people were talking about this last week, otherwise I wouldn’t have even noticed. I do find it odd that we have to apply and then pay for graduation. The school should be able to notice if we have completed the requirements but it is what it is. In 3 days, I’m finished and working.

    • April 22, 2010 8:23 am

      My first post secondary experience was so long ago that I had forgotten it was necessary too. I only remembered when I saw other people in the class filling out the form.

  2. April 21, 2010 9:06 pm

    UofC had a very easy system to figure out where you were at. Just went online and it told you exactly what you needed to do.

    • April 22, 2010 8:27 am

      Normally, search engines bring up the most popular searches first, so I really don’t understand why the form shouldn’t have come up as the first option.

  3. April 21, 2010 10:53 pm

    I’m gonna do that soon. If I missed the deadline because I forgot I would be so mad at myself.

Leave a Reply

