Skip to content

Presentation Anxiety

April 22, 2010
by

Tight throat, slightly blurred vision, an instant need to use the washroom – sound familiar? These are just some of the symptoms of presentation anxiety. As the school year comes to a close, many students are capping off their classes with major presentations.

Today for instance, I somehow pulled through one of the most nerve-wracking presentations of my life. While I was up on the podium, I felt as though a hundred awkward pauses and even more non-sensical sentences were getting in the way of my thoughts. Were my perceptions correct, or was I just suffering from the all too familiar anxieties of public speaking?

I came across a website that offered some excellent tips on how to deal with this condition. The top three points that stood out to me were the following:

1) Know your room

2) Know your audience

3) Know your material

In other words, BE PREPARED! While it’s hard to control the inevitable symptoms that come with presentation anxiety, it’s much easier to ensure that you are well prepared for a presentation. If you become comfortable with your audience, your material and your space, you will be feel confident while presenting in front of a group.

Those are my tips for the day. Good luck, students, on your remaining presentations and exams!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

